Pricing rules for Austin and Santa Fe farmers market vendors. How Austin and Santa Fe vendors price produce and value-added goods
Image: Farmers Market Vendors

Guides

How Austin and Santa Fe vendors price produce and value-added goods

Farmers market vendors in Austin and Santa Fe can use local cottage food rules, chile and pecan labeling, and produce benchmarks to set prices.

What to take away

  • Farmers market vendors in Austin and Santa Fe work under two rulebooks, and the Santa Fe one costs more to satisfy.
  • Austin's cottage food market covers home-made baked goods, jams and dry mixes, which keeps overhead low and prices competitive.
  • Santa Fe chile and pecan labeling requires origin records, and that paperwork shows up in the asking price.
  • Santa Fe produce benchmarks run above Austin's for greens, tree fruit and chile because the growing season is short.
  • Value-added goods pricing turns on ingredient cost, jar cost and what the label claims.
  • One price sheet cannot serve both markets.

How local rules shape pricing for Austin and Santa Fe vendors

Texas Cottage Food Law lets a vendor make low-risk foods at home and sell them directly to consumers, up to $50,000 in gross sales a year. Baked goods, jams, jellies and dry mixes qualify. Permit cost is zero, the food handler course is cheap, and that low overhead is why Austin preserves sell below Santa Fe preserves.

Texas vs New Mexico Home Food Rules

Texas

Home production
Low-risk foods
Sales cap
$50,000/year
Permit cost
Zero
Enforcement
City health depts
Producer rule
Not required

New Mexico

Home production
No refrigeration
Sales cap
Not stated
Permit cost
Not stated
Enforcement
NMED processors
Producer rule
Must be producer

New Mexico runs a narrower list. The New Mexico Environment Department writes and enforces the state's food rules, and home production is limited to foods that do not need refrigeration. Green chile sauce from a Santa Fe home kitchen usually falls outside it.

Austin Public Health rules cover vendors at city markets. The department's farmers market guidance sets out which vendors need a temporary food establishment permit and which only register. Whole produce carries a lighter load than handed-out salsa samples.

The FDA Food Code is the model both states start from. Texas adopts it through the Texas Food Establishment Rules, enforced by city health departments at the stall. New Mexico writes its own version under NMED, which inspects processors instead. Same baseline, different inspector.

Santa Fe vendor rules add a requirement Austin does not have. The Santa Fe Farmers' Market requires vendors to be the producers of what they sell, and its rules favor New Mexico grown ingredients. That closes the door on buying chile or pecans from a broker in a slow week.

The two markets therefore need two cost models. Austin rewards volume on cheap-permit products. Santa Fe rewards fewer, higher-priced jars with documented origin.

Austin's relaxed cottage food market and produce price benchmarks

Austin's advantage is a long list of legal home-kitchen products and a calendar that runs all year. Texas Farmers' Market operates at Mueller and Lakeline, SFC Farmers' Markets run downtown and at Sunset Valley, and one cottage food registration covers all of them.

Austin Produce Prices Winter vs Summer

  • Tomatoes winter$3.50
  • Tomatoes summer$2.00
  • Peaches winter$4.00
  • Peaches summer$2.50
  • Okra winter$4.50
  • Okra summer$3.00
  • Greens winter$3.00
  • Greens summer$2.00

Produce prices in Austin follow the summer peak. Tomatoes, peaches and okra flood the tables in June and July, and asking prices fall. By January most of what sits out was trucked in, and prices climb.

USDA grades and standards give a vendor a reason to hold a price. A box marked U.S. No. 1 sells above an unmarked box because the shield carries defined tolerances for size, color and defects.

Austin farmers market prices for conventional, locally grown produce sit in these ranges:

Austin produce price benchmarks

ItemUnitWinterSummer peak
Tomatoes, field grown1 lb$3.50$2.00
Peaches1 lb$4.00$2.50
Okra1 lb$4.50$3.00
Greens, bunched1 bunch$3.00$2.00
Pecans, in shell1 lb$6.00$5.00

Those are starting points. A vendor with a line at the tent can ask more. A first-year vendor at a new market usually cannot.

Santa Fe produce price benchmarks

Santa Fe sits near 7,000 feet, so the ground stays cold into May and frost returns in early October. No northern New Mexico grower floods a table the way an Austin grower does in July. Supply stays thin and prices hold.

The Santa Fe Farmers' Market at the Railyard draws growers from Española, Chimayó, Velarde and Peñasco. Chile, apples and pinto beans from those valleys carry the fall tables.

ItemUnitSeasonSanta Fe asking price
Green chile, raw1 lbAug to Oct$3.00 to $4.00
Green chile, roasted on site1 lbAug to Oct$5.00 to $7.00
Apples, heirloom1 lbSept to Oct$3.50 to $4.50
Salad greens1/2 lb bagJune to Oct$5.00 to $6.00
Heirloom tomatoes1 lbAug to Sept$3.50 to $5.00
Dried chile ristraeachSept to Dec$18 to $30

Roasting is where the labor sits. A vendor who roasts on site charges for the propane, the drum and the hour of turning, and September is when that cash moves.

For a full cost model behind those numbers, see the pricing and profit guide.

Santa Fe chile and pecan labeling environment and what it costs

New Mexico protects the word chile. Under the New Mexico Chile Advertising Act, a product labeled or advertised as New Mexico chile must contain chile grown in New Mexico. The New Mexico Department of Agriculture administers the act, runs a chile verification program and licenses a certified New Mexico chile mark.

New Mexico Chile Label Verification

  1. Label says New Mexico chile
  2. Get grower invoice or signed statement
  3. Submit sample for verification
  4. Receive certified chile mark
  5. Print label with proof on file

That means paperwork before a label goes to print. The vendor needs an invoice chain or a signed statement from the grower, and sometimes a sample pulled for verification. A jar that says New Mexico chile without that chain is a violation, not a marketing choice.

Place names carry the same weight. Hatch refers to the Hatch Valley. Chimayó refers to a growing area north of Santa Fe. Buyers pay extra for both names, and both require proof of where the chile grew.

Heat claims cost money too. A label that states a specific heat level invites testing, and a lab panel or a calibrated tasting is an expense a small vendor rarely wants. Most keep the claim broad: mild, medium or hot.

Pecans have their own rules. USDA pecan grades run from U.S. No. 1 Halves down through pieces and granule classes, and a package carrying a grade shield must meet the size, color and defect tolerances for that grade. Variety names such as Western Schley or Wichita set expectations about size and shell-out.

New Mexico's pecan crop comes mostly from the Mesilla Valley around Las Cruces, and NMDA promotes the state's pecans as a New Mexico grown product. A Santa Fe vendor labeling pralines or halves that way needs grower records, plus a tree nut allergen statement on the label.

Salsa and chile sauce sit outside home production. An acidified or low-acid canned food needs a process filing with the FDA, pH testing, and a Better Process Control School certificate. The vendor pays once for the training and pays again for every recipe change.

None of that touches the recipe. It lands on the label, which is why a verified Santa Fe chile product asks more per jar than the same recipe sold in Austin.

Value-added goods pricing: jams, salsas and baked goods compared

Jams and jellies are the safest value-added product in Austin and the most common one in Santa Fe. A tested recipe with a pH under 4.6 and a proper hot fill stays shelf stable, which keeps it inside the Texas cottage food list. New Mexico allows the same category for home producers who meet the state's requirements.

Value-Added Goods Compliance Cost

Jams and Jellies

Cottage food
Yes
Commercial kitchen
No
pH study
Tested recipe
Origin paperwork
No
Typical price
$11-$14 jar

Salsa

Cottage food
No
Commercial kitchen
Yes
pH study
Per recipe
Origin paperwork
If chile
Typical price
Not listed

Baked Goods

Cottage food
Yes
Commercial kitchen
No
pH study
No
Origin paperwork
No
Typical price
$4-$8 pack

Salsa is the expensive one. Fresh tomato, onion and garlic salsa is not a cottage food in either state. The vendor needs a commercial kitchen, a processing permit from NMED, and in most cases a pH study for each recipe. Roasted chile adds the origin paperwork on top.

Cottage food pricing for baked goods stays low because the compliance cost is close to zero. Cookies and breads sell for $4 to $8 a package in both cities. Biscochitos, the anise and cinnamon shortbread New Mexico calls its state cookie, outsell everything else in December.

Santa Fe value-added benchmarks

ProductUnitSanta Fe asking price
Green chile jam, verified origin8 oz jar$11 to $14
Crushed red chile4 oz jar$8 to $12
Pecan pralines4 piece box$12 to $16
Biscochitos1 dozen$10 to $14
Chile honey8 oz jar$12 to $16
Pecan halves, New Mexico grown1 lb$12 to $16

A worked example shows where those prices come from. A Santa Fe vendor makes 24 jars of green chile jam in one batch:

  • 8lbRoasted green chile, at $4 per lb: $32
  • $12Sugar, pectin and lemon
  • $30Jars, lids and labels
  • $8Permit and market fees, amortized
  • 3hoursLabor, at $18 per hour: $54
  • $136,Total batch cost

At a 2x markup the jar sells for $11.34, which rounds to $11.50. Add the certified New Mexico chile mark and the label reprint costs $0.35 per jar, lifting cost to $6.02 and the price to $12.

The FTC business guidance covers advertising and labeling claims, including the ones printed on a jam label. A vendor selling a chile product with an unverified origin claim is exposed to more than a bad review.

For help turning each product line into a number, see set profitable prices.

Labeling claims that affect what a vendor can charge

A Texas cottage food label has to carry a sentence saying the food was made in a home kitchen and is not inspected by the Department of State Health Services or a local health department. That sentence is required, and it caps what a grocery buyer or restaurant will pay, though not what a market customer will.

In Santa Fe the load sits on origin claims. A label reading New Mexico chile triggers the verification chain. A label reading Hatch or Chimayó narrows it further. Each claim raises the asking price and the record-keeping burden at the same time.

Organic is the most expensive claim in both cities. Certification takes an inspector, an annual fee and a paper trail, and only a farm with steady volume recovers that cost. Local claims are cheaper because each market defines local for itself.

Pecan claims follow the grade. A package labeled U.S. No. 1 Halves or Western Schley must match the grade or the variety, and an origin claim on top of that needs the grower's name on file.

Keep one file per claim with the source, the date and the supporting documents. That file is what a market manager or an inspector will ask for, and it protects the price you set.

A quote template with pricing helps when a market or a wholesale buyer asks for numbers in writing.

Building a price sheet that travels between the two markets

Start with a base cost per unit for ingredients, labor and packaging. Then add one line for local compliance. That line is what changes when you cross from Austin to Santa Fe.

Build the sheet in this order:

Price Sheet Build Order

  • List product and unit size
  • Cost ingredients per unit
  • Add packaging, jars, lids, labels
  • Apply hourly labor to batch time
  • Add Austin cottage food costs
  • Add Santa Fe chile verification costs
  • Add market fees, insurance, card processing

Then make two versions. The Austin sheet keeps compliance near zero for cottage foods. The Santa Fe sheet carries an extra line per jar for chile verification and proof of origin.

A vendor selling both produce and prepared goods should check which line actually earns, not just which one draws a crowd. The most profitable services breakdown is a useful check on that.

Season changes the sheet more than it changes the recipe. The Santa Fe market moves indoors at the Railyard from about November through April, where foot traffic is thinner. Austin markets stay outdoors all year, with July and August as the slow weeks.

Input costs have their own calendar. Pecan prices fall at harvest in November. Roasted chile labor peaks in September. Austin tomato costs bottom out in July, when the sheet may need a temporary cut.

Payment methods change the math as well. Texas and New Mexico markets both run SNAP and EBT programs, and a terminal or token system costs a vendor a small fee per transaction while raising the average sale.

Review the sheet once a quarter and again before each harvest shift. A price that held in spring can slip by fall, and a vendor who checks early keeps the margin.

Bundling produce with a value-added item raises the average sale without a price increase on either item. The services and packages guide covers how those bundles are built.

Common questions

How much does a cottage food permit cost in Austin?
Texas cottage food vendors do not pay a state permit fee, but the required food handler course costs a small amount. Confirm current requirements with Austin Public Health before your first market.
Can I sell green chile sauce from a home kitchen in Santa Fe?
Usually no. Acidified and low-acid canned foods need a commercial kitchen, a processing permit from NMED, pH testing and a Better Process Control School certificate.
What does it take to label a product New Mexico chile?
Records showing the chile was grown in New Mexico, plus compliance with the New Mexico Chile Advertising Act. NMDA administers the act and licenses the certified chile mark.
Do I need to grade my pecans to sell them?
No. Grading is voluntary. If you print a USDA grade shield or a variety name such as Western Schley, the package has to meet that standard.
Why do Santa Fe prices run higher than Austin prices?
A shorter season near 7,000 feet keeps supply thin, and chile and pecan verification adds a cost per unit that Austin vendors do not carry.

More in Guides

Latest from Costs Desk